

Council Assembly **Extraordinary**

MINUTES of the Council Assembly (Extraordinary) held on Wednesday 8 July 2015 at 10.30 pm at Council Offices, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor for 2015/16, Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle MBE (Chair)

Councillor Evelyn Akoto Councillor Richard Livingstone Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Rebecca Lury Councillor Jasmine Ali Councillor Maisie Anderson Councillor James Barber Councillor Radha Burgess Councillor Sunil Chopra Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Catherine Dale Councillor Nick Dolezal Councillor Gavin Edwards Councillor Paul Fleming Councillor Tom Flynn Councillor Dan Garfield Councillor Lucas Green Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Helen Hayes

Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

Councillor David Hubber

Councillor Ben Johnson

Councillor Eleanor Kerslake Councillor Sarah King

Councillor Peter John

Councillor Anne Kirby

Councillor Vijay Luthra Councillor Jane Lyons Councillor Eliza Mann Councillor Hamish McCallum Councillor Darren Merrill Councillor Victoria Mills Councillor Michael Mitchell Councillor Jamille Mohammed Councillor Adele Morris Councillor David Noakes Councillor Damian O'Brien Councillor Leo Pollak Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Martin Seaton Councillor Rosie Shimell Councillor Andy Simmons Councillor Johnson Situ Councillor Michael Situ Councillor Charlie Smith Councillor Cleo Soanes Councillor Kath Whittam Councillor Bill Williams Councillor Kieron Williams

Councillor Mark Williams Councillor Ian Wingfield

1. PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

1.1 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

There were no announcements.

1.2 NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE MAYOR DEEMS URGENT

The Mayor agreed to receive the report entitled Honorary Alderwoman Nominations as urgent business for the reasons set out in the report.

1.3 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no disclosure of interest.

1.4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Neil Coyle, Helen Dennis, Karl Eastham, Renata Hamvas, James Okosun and Lisa Rajan.

2. OTHER REPORTS

2.1 HONORARY ALDERMAN / ALDERWOMAN NOMINATIONS

(See pages 1 – 3 of supplemental agenda 1 and pages 1 – 2 of the closed report)

In accordance with council assembly procedure rule 2.11 (2), the report was formally moved by the Mayor.

The Mayor stated that as no member wished to speak on the item, the meeting would move to the vote on the recommendations and the list of recipients set out in the closed report.

The recommendations contained within the open and closed reports were put to the vote and declared to be <u>carried</u>.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the proposed recipients for the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman as set out in the closed report be agreed.
- 2. That officers write to all nominees to seek confirmation that the named individuals would wish to accept the title.
- 3. That the constitutional steering panel's recommendation to add the following

additional criteria for conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman be agreed:

That on a case by case basis where exceptional circumstances apply, the title may be conferred on former councillors who fall outside of criteria a) to c) [see paragraph 7 of the report].

Note: The ceremony to confer the title will be held in conjunction with the 50th Anniversary of the Borough on Saturday 24 October 2015 at Southwark Cathedral.

3. AMENDMENTS

There were no amendments.

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in category 1 of paragraph 10.4 of the access to information rules of the Southwark Constitution.

The following is a summary of the closed part of the meeting.

4. HONORARY ALDERMAN / ALDERWOMAN NOMINATIONS

DATED:

Council assembly considered the closed information relating to this item. Please see item 2.1 for decision.

The meeting closed	at 10.32pm.		
	CHAIR:		